Believing The Best In God

Almost all of my professional career, I have worked for myself. This isn’t as exciting as some people think, as being the “man” versus working for the “man” is just a different form of stress. A good majority of people can’t work for themselves. They lack the insanity that it takes to take that step and throw all caution to the wind. One thing that is common across entrepreneurial platforms is a belief that you can generate work that generates money that pays not only yourself, but also those who work for you. This burden is not for the faint of heart, and really requires a positive, upbeat, head in the clouds kind of person. If an entrepreneur over-thinks the risks, they will crumble under the uncertainty of the next paycheck.

Essentially, I “hope” that business is there and can support all those that count on it. I have good reason for this “hope”. The best reason is that history has proven itself for now over 20 years. So, because history has proven that I have reason to hope, I rarely struggle with the risk, because it has always been okay, I have no reason to believe that it won’t now.

Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what He has promised, He confirmed it with an oath. God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged. We have this Hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.” Hebrews 6:17-19

I have seen and experienced some miracles in my life, for sure. I have seen Him work in ways and provide in ways that I could have NEVER imagined. He has proven Himself faithful to me over and over, yet, life still beats me up and the first thing to go is my faith in the Hope that is set before me.  Therefore, I am not encouraged.  Discouragement or disappointment are among the strongest of human emotions.  It can be hard to come back when we get our heads out of the game.

We have a rule in our little company and that rule is to always believe the best in each other. My employees and contractors work remotely, so it is feasible that my people won’t physically see each other except for the occasional retreat for over a year.  But, for the most part, they communicate on email, text and the occasional meeting. It is easy to misunderstand the intentions or the actions of another when all you do is communicate via the written word. When things are tough, if we aren’t careful, we can get frustrated with each other, causing tension that is not conducive of a healthy workplace. So, our general rule is to believe the best of the person and to assume that there is information we do not have. This is almost always the case, and so assuming or believing the best of each other stops hurt feelings and generally speaking, potential issues are addressed before bitterness and resentment can take root.

I wonder why we don’t give God the same benefit of the doubt? Why don’t we believe the best of Him? I think we all agree that He is mysterious and it’s easy to misunderstand Him. It’s easy to forget precious promises like this one, the Hope that is set before us will encourage us.  We don’t grab it; we think He is a magic man behind the curtain with draw- strings that He pulls as He wills. He certainly does what He pleases, but what if we believed the best in God and believed that when He said that He couldn’t lie, that all of His promises are true? These promises have us covered with all the things that preclude us from taking advantage of Hope, the one that is set before us; all we have to do is, believe. He promises to never leave us. He promises to provide for us. He promises wisdom. He promises comfort. He simply is everything that we need, and that is the real Hope.

So, why don’t we take advantage of this Hope? Just like in business, God has proven Himself many times to me. Why do I let life beat me up and steal my ability to hope in Him; because hoping in Him is the ONLY thing we have that will NEVER fail. Why is it easy for me to believe the best in people, yet a battle to believe the best in the all- powerful God?

It is a valid question, and is also a vital question that demands an answer. I can’t live the life that He has provided for me if I don’t trust Him and if I don’t put my hope in Him. The only way for my short- term memory issues to be fixed is to keep Him in front of me at all times. Like a deer panting for the water, I have to thirst for His Word and need to be reminded of His promises. Because when I do that, the truth of His omnipresence and His omnipotence sits fresh on my heart like morning dew on a flower. It is new every morning; the promises seem new with every circumstance. I can close my well-torn Bible that has gotten me thus far, and hold my head high because I know that because He can’t lie, I can put my trust in Him. I can remember the qualities of a sovereign God Who has never left me; has never failed to provide for me; and Who always has my best interest in mind. And I find when I am abandoned to what He wants, versus what I want, that He and I are on the same page. It is when I don’t seek what He wants or believe what He has already told me that I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. With each step away from the open end of the tunnel, it gets darker and darker—unless I remember the beacon of Hope. The one that serves as an anchor in the storm and the one that never changes, even if the storm does.

So, there is this Hope set before me, the likes of which were laid there by an all powerful God Who can not lie and Who promises this expectant prize at the end of it all—that prize?

Hearing those two words.

Well Done.

Leave a comment